NEW CASTLE, Ind. – 2018 IHSAA 3A girls champion Northwestern and undefeated 4A boys champion Warren Central are among stellar fields of outstanding teams, players and coaches for the 2018 Raymond James Hall of Fame Classic, to be played at the New Castle Fieldhouse on Friday, December 28 and Saturday, December 29.

The prestigious event, spotlighting the best in Indiana high school basketball, will be held for the 35th time for girls and it will be the 42nd edition for the boys. 

2018 Girls’ Raymond James Hall of Fame Classic
New Castle Fieldhouse – Friday, December 28, 2018

11:00 a.m. (ET) – Bedford North Lawrence vs. Northwestern
to follow – Jeffersonville vs. Homestead
6:00 p.m. – Consolation Game
to follow – Championship Game

2018 Boys’ Raymond James Hall of Fame Classic
New Castle Fieldhouse – Saturday, December 29, 2018

11:00 a.m. (ET) – Westview vs. Center Grove
to follow – Valparaiso vs. Warren Central
6:00 p.m. – Consolation Game
to follow – Championship Game

Selecting from the best teams in the state, the girls’ tournament has included 18 teams that went on to win a state championship that season, including 11 class champions and six class runner-up teams in the past 16 years alone. 

On the boys side, 14 participating teams have gone on to win their state championship – including 2018 2A champion Oak Hill – with six more finishing as state runner-up that season. 

Tickets for the tournaments will be available through participating schools and the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in the 2018-19 school year.


Bedford North Lawrence – The Lady Stars return four starters and nine total players from their 23-5 squad that reached the final four of the 2018 4A girls state tournament.

6’1” junior Jorie Allen (Indiana University), who has been named a member of the 2018 Indiana Junior All-Stars Core team, averaged 17.1 points and 8.0 rebounds, 6’2” sophomore Madison Webb averaged 8.1 points and 4.6 rebounds and 5’8” freshman Chloe McKnight averaged 8.0 points.

One of the  most decorated girls basketball programs in state history, BNL has won 19 or more games for seven straight seasons with a 167-23 (.879) record in that time, including two 4A championships, seven sectional titles, three regional championships and two semi-state victories in that span.

Jeff Allen is 89-19 in four seasons as head coach at Bedford North Lawrence.

The BNL girls become just the second program to make four appearances in Girls Classic history and are one of only three programs to have previously won the Girls Classic twice.  After a 1986 appearance, the Lady Stars won the 1990 and 2013 events, each of those occurring en route to a state tournament title (1991 state championship and 2014 4A championship) later that same season.

Northwestern – Following the most dominating postseason in IHSAA girls basketball history, the Lady Tigers return four starters and over 86% of their scoring from their 29-1 2018 3A championship squad.

6’1” sophomore guard Madison Layden averaged 18.7 points, 5.3 assists and 4.1 steals, 6’1” sophomore post Kendall Bostic averaged 15.6 points and 8.1 rebounds and 5’10” junior forward Taylor Boruff averaged 9.9 points.

Northwestern outscored their state tournament opponents by 42.9 points per game this postseason, the highest average by a champion team in IHSAA girls state tournament history.  They are 51-5 over the past two seasons and averaged 68.5 points per game this past season, 3rd best in the state.

Kathie Layden is 98-45 in six seasons as head coach at Northwestern and 276-145 in 18 seasons overall, including leading Tri-Central to 1A championships in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

Northwestern makes their first appearance in the Classic.

Jeffersonville – Following a 20-6 campaign, the Lady Devils return significant weapons from a team that finished the 2017-18 season ranked #7 in the state polls. 

5’11” sophomore Nan Garcia averaged 16.7 points and 6.8 rebounds while 5’8” junior Tori Handley averaged 8.5 points this past season.

Another traditional girls basketball success, the Jeffersonville girls have won 15 or more games in each of head coach Mike Warren’s five seasons at the helm.

Warren has an 84-60 record in his five-year tenure.

Jeffersonville makes their third appearance in the Girls Classic.  After appearing in the 2003 event, they were runner-up in the 2010 event.

Homestead – Among the state’s most successful programs over the past decade, the Spartans expect to return 11 of their top 12 players from a 19-3 season that concluded ranked #6 in the state.

5’8” junior Sylare Starks, named a 2018 Indiana Junior All-Star, averaged 17.8 points and 3.1 assists, 6’0” sophomore Sydney Graber averaged 15.1 points and 7.7 rebounds, 6’0” junior Haley Swing averaged 8.4 points and 5.9 rebounds and 5’6” junior Kara Gealy averaged 7.4 points and 4.6 assists. 

The Homestead girls program is 202-29 (.874) over the past nine seasons, including a pair of 4A championship game appearances and 2017 4A championship victory.

Rod Parker is 289-115 in 17 seasons as head coach at Homestead.

Homestead makes their 2nd appearance in the Classic.  They were runners-up to Bedford North Lawrence in the 2013 event, with both programs appearing again in the event in 2018.

Courtesy of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame

This entry was posted in Northwestern. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *