Softball around the state is now in its final quarter of regular season play, and all five Howard County squads are ready for the annual postseason tournament. On April 28, the sectional tournament was drawn for the 33rd Annual IHSAA Softball State Tournament Series.

A record three hundred seventy‐eight (378) teams – one better than 2010 – were drawn and placed into brackets for the start of the tourney. Sectional action runs May 22‐27 with the 64 survivors moving into a one‐game regional round on May 30. From there, 32 teams will square off in four‐team semi‐states on June 3, with the four state championship games scheduled for Saturday, June 10 at Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis.

Class A defending state champion Borden, also top‐ranked in this week’s state coaches poll from the Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association, will take on South Central (Elizabeth) in Sectional 62 at Lanesville.

Other No. 1 teams include Class 4A Penn, last year’s state runner‐up, which will host LaPorte in the Sectional 3 bye game. Class 3A No. 1 New Palestine will host Herron in the Sectional 26 opener and Class 2A’s Union County will host Northeastern in the Sectional 41 opening game.

Among the other defending state champions, Class 4A’s Avon will meet Plainfield in Sectional 12 bye game at Terre Haute North Vigo. Lebanon, last year’s 3A state champion and currently ranked second, will face North Montgomery in Sectional 25 at Tri‐West Hendricks. Evansville Mater Dei, last year’s Class 2A champion and ranked sixth this week, will take on South Spencer in the Sectional 48 opening game at Forest Park.

Also of note, Tecumseh extended its state record 14th consecutive sectional championship a year ago and will look to continue that string after drawing the bye in Sectional 64 at Springs Valley.

Times and dates will be announced in the coming week.

Class 4A Sectional 7 at Harrison

1. McCutcheon (10-5) vs Kokomo (8-7)

2. Harrison (11-3) vs Zionsville (11-5)

3. Winner G1 vs Winner G2

4. Logansport (5-7) vs Lafayette Jefferson (2-10)

5. Championship game

Class 3A Sectional 20 at Northwestern

May 22, 5 p.m.

1. Peru (4-7) vs Western (7-5)

2. Maconaquah (2-9) vs #22 Northwestern (12-3)

May 23, 5 p.m.

3. Winner G1 vs Winner G2,

4. Benton Central (9-3) vs West Lafayette (0-11)

May 25, 6 p.m.

5. Championship game

Class 2A Sectional 39 at Eastern

1. Eastbrook (8-3) vs #9 Elwood (12-2)

2. Taylor (5-8) vs Blackford (4-8)

3. Winner G1 vs Winner G2

4. Madison-Grant (11-3) vs Eastern (1-13)

5. Championship game

Courtesy of the IHSAA

This entry was posted in softball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *