David Kitchell, Terry Downham, Charlie Hall, Mark Masariu and Ron Barsh at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame induction. (photo provided)

INDIANAPOLIS – To say Charlie Hall’s coaching record at Kokomo is staggering would be an understatement. With a winning percentage of .887, Hall led the Lady Wildkats to a plateau no other Kokomo team had reached. Last weekend, Hall was recognized for his playing and coaching accomplishments by being inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

“This is a really well-deserved and long-time coming honor for Coach Hall,” said Kokomo High School Athletic Director Jason Snyder, who both played for Hall and coached with him. “From what I experienced as a player, I still remember points of emphasis that he taught us that I went on to use as not only a player, but as a coach.”

Hall’s career at Kokomo started as a player. Despite a slow start to his career – he did not play basketball as an eighth-grader and was on the freshman B team as a ninth-grader – he ended his Wildkat career as the two-time North Central Conference scoring leader, graduating with 1,163 points in just two varsity seasons. He played collegiately at Columbus College (Georgia), where he broke the single-game scoring record with 43 points.

After graduating from Ball State University with a teaching degree, Hall was an assistant coach at Haworth and Kokomo for 17 years. He took over the Kokomo girls basketball program in 1997 and amassed a 172-22 win-loss record. In eight seasons, his Lady Wildkats won eight NCC titles (54-1 overall record), five sectionals and four regionals. The seven-time NCC Coach of the Year guided the 2003 Lady Wildkats to the IHSAA Class 4A state championship with a perfect 26-0 record – the only undefeated season in Kokomo basketball history. He was inducted into the Howard County Sports Hall of Fame in 2004.

Since 2008, he has been the Indiana All-Stars game director. During his tenure, the Indiana boys and girls all-stars have a combined 27-5 record against the Kentucky All-Stars.

Joining Hall in the women’s class of 2017 are Nikki (Anderson) Cerbone, Center Grove 1987; Krissi Davis, Noblesville 1987; Beth (Davis) Fagan, Greenfield-Central 1988; Donna (Lamping) Hoeing, Batesville 1981; Jennifer Jacoby, Rossville 1991; Patricia (Babcock) McGraw, Culver Academies 1990; Louise Owen, Evansville Central 1947; Bridget Pettis, East Chicago Central 1989; Julie (VonDielingen) Shelton, Seymour 1989; and Renee Westmoreland, Scottsburg 1989. The men’s class was inducted last month.

Courtesy of the Sports Journal and Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame

This entry was posted in Basketball, indiana All-Stars, Kokomo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *